top of page

What I'm reading today - 11.17.19

I'm currently reading Own Your Everyday by Jordan Lee Dooley. I think I might be a decade older than the author's intended audience, but the themes of self-acceptance, getting out of your own way, overcoming comparison/shame/disappointment/imposter syndrome/perfectionism, and letting shit go are relatable at any age or life stage.


If you can get over her calling you sister, girl, lady, and friend every paragraph (à la Rachel Hollis), there are definitely some insight nuggets in here that are worth further pondering. Plus, the book is a super quick read (took me a bit over an hour to finish). If you know a 16-24 year old who could benefit from reflecting on some of these topics, I'd gift them a copy.



This book excerpt (below) from page 120 really resonated with me as I find that I too often think about the gap between where I currently am and where I think I could be. I rarely celebrate or acknowledge the growth that I've made to get where I am now - I just carry on and create even loftier dreams and loftier resulting gaps. Do these expectations hold us accountable or end up weighing us down in the end? I think this Tiny Steps adventure is going to help me figure this out.


"While I'm a strong advocate for goal setting, I also think its important to remember that when we fixate on what life should be or how things could look, we can lack direction in the here and now. When the story we thought would be best for us is a long way from the life we're living, we begin to compare the two, which inevitably leads to a life driven by discontentment, not intentionality.


The comparisons we make and the expectations we have can easily hinder us and weigh us down. Then we become exhausted.


Look at your own life. Have you ever experienced a massive gap between your expectations and your actual experience? Did that motivate you to live more intentionally? Or did it defeat and discourage you?"



bottom of page