top of page

Already feeling safer with ROAD iD

Disclaimer: I received a ROAD iD Wrist iD to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews!



When the opportunity to review a ROAD iD arose due to being a BibRave Pro this year, I enthusiastically rose my hand to be one of the testers. As a cyclist, runner, and general outdoors lover, I have seen a variety of ROAD iDs on the wrists of those running, riding, kayaking, hiking, and swimming past me (and on the collars of a few pets, too!). They seemed super popular and well-liked, but I just had never purchased one for myself.


If you're not familiar with ROAD iD, since 1999 they have been on a mission to...


- educate folks about the importance of wearing an ID

- provide innovative identification products that outdoor enthusiasts will want to include as part of their gear



Maybe I had never felt the need to invest in a ROAD iD as I hadn't yet had any close calls to warrant having my personal/emergency information on my wrist. It's too bad that most of us need something terrible to either nearly happen to us or to actually happen to us before we realize that we are woefully unprepared for an emergency.


Not-so-fun-fact: Accidents happen far more than you think they do. Each year approximately 450,000 of us are taken to hospitals unconscious and without identification.


Fortunately, I haven't crashed hard enough where a First Responder has had to contact my family members, and I haven't needed speedy emergency treatment, but if that were to ever happen, I feel more secure knowing my ROAD iD can provide life-saving details when I need it.


Take a look at a few of the Top Reasons You Should Wear ID (and go here to see all of them)

  1. ROAD iD enables hospital staff to locate vital medical records. 

  2. ROAD iD can communicate medical conditions or allergy information to medical staff.

  3. ROAD iD can prevent serious delays in treatment by saving crucial time during the "golden hour" of medical treatment.

  4. It's far better to have Road ID and not need it than to need ROAD iD and not have it. It's not just a piece of gear, it's peace of mind.

  5. ROAD iD can save your Life. Period.

When deciding what type of ROAD iD I wanted to get, I was choosing between the Wrist iD and the Sidekick iD. They also have Pet/Apple/Kid iDs, in case you're interested in outfitting the entire family!


For 25% off any ID for Rufus the Goldendoodle or Rufus the human child, use discount code SAVE25BRP.




For my daily watch, I wear a FitBit Blaze. However, when I'm activity-ing, I usually bring along my Garmin Forerunner too for my other wrist (I know, embarrassing, but gotta track those steps) as the FitBit GPS and timing are extremely inaccurate. Did I want to add the Sidekick iD to my Garmin or add a THIRD thing to my wrists with the Wrist iD? You probably thought I was going to say that I was going to reduce my wrist accessories and go with the Garmin Sidekick iD, but I actually ended up deciding to further tone my forearms this summer with the additional weight of the Wrist iD.


I figured, I only use my Garmin when I'm out running, biking, swimming, or hiking and I'd like to have something on me that I wear anytime I leave the house. Something unexpected can happen at the grocery store, work, or while getting my teeth cleaned at the dentist and the casual, yet polished look of the Wrist iD is something that I don't mind sporting on a daily basis.


However, I did intentionally choose an iD look that goes more with my casual clothing - a 19mm rose gold faceplate (customizable and made from medical grade stainless steel) to go with the sand-colored nylon weave band. It's soft yet durable, breathable, adjustable, and I hardly even notice that it's on my wrist. It also wicks moisture away from the skin so that your wrist isn't a puddle of sweat during your temperature-raising shenanigans. The only critique that I have so far is that my rose gold faceplate got a spot on it that doesn't wipe off and I'm not sure how it happened to try to avoid this from happening again!


Note: I don't swim very often, so it wasn't a huge deal to me that the nylon fabric is intended more for running, biking, sports, and hiking. If you do a lot of water activities, I recommend you go with the silicone material band that is meant to get submerged.




If you've been considering getting a motivational slogan tattooed on your arm to get you through that next triathlon or century bike ride, you might instead consider simply adding it to the bottom of your new ROAD iD faceplate (NEVER GIVE UP!).


As I mentioned earlier, I hadn't yet had any close calls that made me think I needed a ROAD iD...until this past December when I started marathon training in the middle of a harsh Wisconsin winter. All of the outdoor rest stops had their water fountains turned off for the season, so I struggled to find water during my longer runs. While I ended up befriending the guys at Kwik Trip who let me take cups of water from the soda machine, I was regularly dehydrated and bonking from not eating enough before or during my runs. I would get lightheaded and disoriented, which caused me to take a few really bad spills on the cement.


After my first 18 mile run (ever!), I had to have my partner come pick me up with his car because I could hardly stand upright, couldn't control my body temperature, and ended up getting sick and passing out on the couch (Nick was extremely worried about my state of affairs by this point). If he hadn't been able to come get me from down the street, I fear that I may have dropped hard on that sidewalk with no identifying or emergency information to help who might have eventually found me.


Just this month, I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease called Lupus. Right now it's making my joints ache, hair fall out, stomach hurt, and face break out with rashes, acne, and eczema, but in case it progresses further (lupus often affects the heart, lungs, or kidneys), I feel more safe and secure knowing that my name, as well as my dad's and Nick's phone numbers are listed on my Wrist iD. I can't be certain of what might happen to me while outside of my home, but I can be certain that I've taken a step to be more prepared if an accident were to occur. That's not only good for me, but good for the first person arriving at the scene as they assess the situation and take a closer look at my wrist.


To get your own peace of mind, visit www.roadid.com and use discount code SAVE25BRP for 25% off all ID options!

bottom of page