top of page

90+ Days: Milwaukee Marathon, here I come!



Choices. Behaviors. Habits.


The only thing standing between me and a marathon finish line is


one choice


to change my behavior


to start building up a regular running habit.


The marathon has been on my life bucket list since I can remember, but I never truly believed that it was something I could accomplish, even if I put in the work. It just seemed like such an impossible feat for a fair weather running fan. I can get behind a half marathon training plan and run a few miles a week, a few times a week, jogging my way to mediocrity. But a marathon? 26.2 miles...at one time? It sounds so miserable that it's become almost this elusive goal, like how dedicated can I become to accomplishing what for me feels like the impossible?


After running three half marathons, I always thought, "I could NEVER have turned back around and run that distance again. I have nothing left in me. How do marathoners do it?!"


I mean, I trained pretty hard for the 3M Half Marathon in 2017 and wanted it to be over by mile 4. I finished it 6 minutes slower than my first half and was still ready to collapse over the finish line.


Not the face of someone who just had fun

So what am I doing committing to a full marathon right now? And not just any marathon, but a marathon that needs to be trained for during the toughest time of year in Wisconsin - winter. #LeanIn


It's pretty simple. I'm done playing it safe. It's time to see what I'm capable of when I push my known limits and fully commit to a big, hairy, scary goal. I've done difficult things before, but most of them never gave me the same feeling of trepidation as did pressing the submit button for the 2020 Milwaukee Marathon. April 11, 2020, here I come.


Completing my first half in Door County, 2017, 1:59

I originally wanted to run Grandma's Marathon in June in Duluth, MN as I'd heard really great things about the course and scenic views. Unfortunately, with my current savings goals and budget, I just can't justify a $135 registration fee tagged onto a $310/night hotel. Maybe another year if this training plan doesn't kill me first.


While the Milwaukee Marathon has definitely had some major hiccups since its inception a few years ago (short course, long course, unclear course, unmarked course, etc.), new owners took over last year and the organization and reputation seem to have been decently overhauled. Plus, because of these course issues and a new sponsor in the NBA Milwaukee Bucks, the marathon was only $58 (and I got a $8 discount on top of that), and this includes a tech shirt AND a race fleece, so I'm pretty pumped about the price tag on this bucket list item.


It's also been really inspiring to follow along with the World Marathon Majors over the last few years, with incredible wins by American women, as well as the pursuit to a sub two-hour marathon. It seems like more than ever in our history, (long distance) running is becoming positively mainstream. One doesn't have to be an elite athlete or competitive runner to participate and the finisher results are splashed over network news shows. Ordinary folks are triumphantly taking on 26.2 miles in movie theaters too, like in Amazon Studios' new film, Brittany Runs A Marathon.


The running community in Austin was unlike any other that I have experienced, which also really built up my interest in the sport. It helped that I worked for a kids' running non-profit while in Austin, so I became quite connected to the events and people. I was never as dedicated to running as the women I met through Oiselle, Sports Bra Squad, or November Project, but their consistency and dedication to training were admirable, even enviable.


However, I think I've envied and admired other women for too long. I've happily cheered them on from the sidelines because I didn't feel confident enough to actually join them on the course myself. After watching Nick train for and then dominate at the Lakefront Marathon last month, I knew I wanted to follow suit. Despite having only trained consistently for about a month prior, Nick ran a damn 3:35 marathon. Like all Type 2 Fun, it was miserable as he sprinted along with a shoe-sized blister rubbing on the bottom of his foot, but now in retrospect he's so proud and happy about this achievement.


Damnit, I want to feel that pride in achievement too.


So, I've made a scary choice to be better. I'm choosing to change my behavior to start building up a regular running habit in order to successfully finish a full marathon.




How many tiny steps are in 26.2 miles anyway?



bottom of page