top of page

Thanks, Nate.

While I'm technically a millennial, my iPhone 6s with 5 apps and $20/month cell service might beg to differ. After realizing that I forgot my wallet at home today with no way to pay for lunch in the middle of an all-day training, I remembered that I had set up Apple Pay on my phone and could get lunch after all!!! I felt so savvy - and even downloaded the restaurant app for quicker ordering (Edit: 6 apps). You go, Court!


After the training ended, I drove around town looking at used cars (I'm in the market - you got one for less than $5k?). I debated back and forth about whether it was worth the effort to drive another 25 minutes to hit up Trader Joe's for the essentials (toilet paper and salsa). With a Google search that confirmed that they too take Apple Pay, I decided to make the trip.


Salsa, toilet paper, and $50 worth of other TJ items later, I was holding my 6s up to the payment reader while the dreaded "E" glared at the top of my phone's screen.


"Uhhhhh, I probably can't use Apple Pay if I have no service in here, right?"


"Everyone has terrible service in here, but usually they can still use their Apple Pay."


*Continues to hold up line while moving phone around every corner of the machine praying that something clicks*


"Uhhhhhh, let me turn my phone off, go pick up service outside, and then run back in and see if I can get it to connect before it loses service again."


*Runs quickly into entry vestibule. The TJ's employee letting people in wonders what's happening to me and inquires about what cell service I have.*


"That's probably my problem. I pay $20/month and now my crappy service means I'm probably going to leave here without my salsa."


"You're just getting salsa? If you can't get it to work, I can cover it."


"Sorry, the E went away! I'm going to go and see if I can get this to work!"


*Holds phone up to payment reader.....nothing...nothing...nothing...nothing...*


"Do you want me to get my manager to see if they can help us figure this out? I don't use Apple Pay very often to know how to fix this."


"No, that's okay. I was just feeling too high and mighty with my newfound technological prowess today."


*TJs employee from the entryway walks up to the register.*


"What's the total?"


"54.14."


"I can get it for you."


"I can Venmo you the second I get to my car!!! You can trust me, I swear!"


"You look plenty trustworthy. I don't have Venmo though. Do you have Zelle?"


"I have Zelle, too!"


"I promise, I'll send you the money right away. What's your name?"


"Nate."


*Nate pays for my groceries and then writes his phone number on a piece of receipt paper and hands it to me.*


I walk out with $54.14 worth of groceries that a complete stranger paid for knowing full well that I might not pay him back when I leave the store.


It's really, really easy to feel completely emotionally and mentally obliterated by our current events and constant and invasive news stories.


Let's remember that there are a lot more Nate's in our communities than hate mongers.


Let's remember that there are a lot more Nate's in our communities than Karen's, trolls, anti-maskers, and egomaniacs.


Thank you Monroe Street (Madison, WI) Trader Joe's employee, Nate! You're a freaking gem.



bottom of page